heavy metal

Despised Icon Bio

Despised Icon
Band members
Steve Marois - vocals Alexandre Pelletier - drums Yannick St-Amand - guitar Sebastien Piche - bass Eric Jarrin - guitar Alexandre Erian - vocals


Created in January 2002, the Montreal death / metalcore six-piece DESPISED ICON was formed featuring members of such prolific bands as Neuraxis, In Dying Days and Heaven's Cry. Consumed By Your Poison , the band's first album, was released in October 2002 on Canada's Galy Records and quickly caught the attention of the growing underground metal community.
From the album's release, DESPISED ICON performed countless shows and festivals, unleashing its brutal mixture of death metal and metalcore. In early 2004, DESPISED ICON recorded its second release, an EP entitled Syndicated Murderers , that further established the band as one of the most promising Canadian metal acts to date.
It's now 2005 and once again the band has reached a turning point in its budding career as it marked the release of its split CD on Relapse Records with Bodies In The Gears Of The Apparatus and the signing of a worldwide deal with Century Media Records.
DESPISED ICON's highly anticipated sophomore full length, The Healing Process , was produced by guitarist Yannick St-Amand (Ion Dissonance, Neuraxis), mixed by J-F Dagenais (Misery Index, Kataklysm) and mastered by Alan Douches (Shadows Fall, The Dillinger Escape Plan). Currently set for an April 5 th release on Century Media, DESPISED ICON plans on touring ceaselessly through out 2005, introducing its relentless brand of metal with breakdowns as brutal as a kick-in-the-face.

Click here to update bio