heavy metal

Obscura Bio

Band members
Steffen Kummerer - Vocals, Guitar Christian Muenzner - Guitar Hannes Grossmann - Drums Jeroen Paul Thesseling - Bass

death metal

The progressive German death metal band Obscura was founded in 2002 by guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer and drummer Jonas Baumgartl. The band caused a stir when they - out of nowhere - toured as support for Suffocation on their European tour in 2006 and when they independently released their debut album 'Retribution' that same year.

After several lineup changes, Kummerer enlisted a new team of virtuoso musicians. Late 2007, Obscura added drummer Hannes Grossmann (ex-Necrophagist) and fretless bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling (ex-Pestilence) as new permanent members. The group's latest addition, guitarist Christian Muenzner (ex-Necrophagist), came into the ranks early 2008.

Together they create their vision of the future of extreme metal. A symbiosis of death, thrash and black metal merged with progressive elements and technical as well as compositional demand. Obscura has set 'Cosmogenesis' as the title of it's second full-length album, due in early 2009 via Relapse Records.

Click here to update bio