heavy metal

Dr. Acula Bio

Dr. Acula
Band members

death metal

Dr. Acula is a deathcore band from Long Island, New York. The band’s name comes from a joke written by stand-up comedian Mitch Hedberg. All of their songs are named after books in R.L. Stine’s GOOSEBUMPS series. Dr. Acula formed in September 2005 and quickly accumulated a following thanks to non-stop DIY touring, energetic performances, and not taking themselves too seriously.

They self-released their first recording, the Chillogy EP, in 2006. Early copies were packaged inside Goosebumps books from their personal collection. Their first full-length “S.L.O.B” (a.k.a. Silver-Lipped Operator of Bullshit) was self-released in 2007, and later reissued by 187 Records.

In April 2008, Dr. Acula signed to Uprising Records. The band is currently working on their second full-length album, titled “Below Me!”, with producer Jamie King (Through The Eyes Of The Dead, Between the Buried and Me). It will be released July 22, 2008. On June 15th, the band released the first single off of “Below Me” entitled “Go Eat Worms”.

Click here to update bio