heavy metal

Rammstein Bio

Band members
Richard Kruspe - guitar
Paul Landers - guitar
Till Lindemann - vocals
Oliver Riedel - bass
Christoph Schneider - drums
Flake Lorenz - keyboards


A six-piece rock explosive from Germany, Rammstein was formed in 1993 by Richard Kruspe (guitar), Paul Landers (guitar), Till Lindemann (vocals), Oliver Riedel (bass), Christoph Schneider (drums) and Flake (pronounced flah-keh) Lorenz (keyboards).

Rammstein (German for "battering ram") has built a loyal following in their native Germany with their loud industrial rock and pyromania-filled live shows (lead singer Lindeman -- a former Olympic swimmer -- is known to set himself on fire in the middle of performances).

Their debut album, Herzeleid (Heartache), was released in the United States in 1996. Macabre film director David Lynch selected two songs from this album, "Rammstein" and "Heirate Mich" to appear in his movie Lost Highway.

Rammstein's follow-up, Sehnsucht, (Longing) was released in Germany in 1997, where it entered the album charts at No. 1. In February 1998, the CD was distributed in the United States by Slash Records.

Click here to update bio