heavy metal

Overkill Bio

Band members
Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth - vocals
Bobby Gustafson - guitars
Sid Falck - drums
D.D. Vernie - bass


New York thrash quartet formed in 1984 by vocalist Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth and guitarist Bobby Gustafson, also including bassist D.D. Vernie and drummer Sid Falck. The band garnered a reputation for brutal, pounding speed, but lacked the musical diversity to compete with heavy hitters like Metallica. Gustafson quit in 1989 and was replaced by Rob Cannavino and Merrit Gant. The band recorded their most effective and varied album, Horrorscope, in 1991; among subsequent releases were 1994's W.F.O., 1996's Fuck You and Then Some and 1999's Necroshine. Coverkill celebrated the band's influences with renditions of songs by Black Sabbath, Jethro Tull, the Sex Pistols and others.

Click here to update bio